Contact us

Last updated:
December 24 2013

Comments, reactions or contributions to the SNS homepage? Send them to: Elena Turco

International Commission on Stratigraphy
International Commission on Stratigraphy Logo

Website: renovated from a design by Geomedia Webmaster: Davide Peis



The Subcommission on Neogene Stratigraphy (SNS) is part of the International Commission on Stratigraphy (ICS) of the International Union of Geological Sciences (IUGS). The SNS was founded in 1971 in Lyon - during the IV congress on Mediterranean Neogene Stratigraphy - by Professor Menner, chairman of the ICS.


The present SNS executive consists of Isabella Raffi (Chairman, University of Chieti-Pescara, Italy), Kenneth Miller (Vice-Chairman, Rutgers State University of New Jersey, USA), and Elena Turco (Secretary, University of Parma, Italy).

Regional committees and Working groups

The SNS presently has four regional committees (Mediterranean, Pacific, Atlantic and Nordic) and one working group on defining the Langhian and Burdigalian GSSPs chaired by Frits Hilgen (University of Utrecht, The Netherlands). The mandate of the working group is to propose remaining GSSPs for these Miocene stages and to place them in an astronomically-calibrated time scale.